

<u>Graduate Education Council Meeting</u> **Minutes**

Date: October 28th

Time: 12:30pm-2:00pm (Pizza lunch starting 12:30 pm)
Place: International and Graduate Affairs Building Room 1N05

Attendees:

| Jaime Brenes Reyes | Alicia Garcia | Catherine Nevin | Kristen Reilly |
|--------------------|---------------|-----------------|----------------|
| Erika Chamberlain | Maya Kumar | Cheryl Harding | Lori Johnson |
| Robert Wood | Greg Kopp | Tilottama Rajan | Liz Webb |
| Gordon Irvine | Jim Dickey | Abdallah Shami | Arzie Chant |
| Kyle Fricke | Doug Jones | Kate Choi | Tamara Hinan |

Jan Plug Joanna Quinn Nanda Dimitrov Rebecca Kasperavicius

Pam Bishop Susan Knabe Janet Holmes Andrew Johnson

Lee Ann McKivor Kamran Siddiqui

Regrets: Margret McGlynn, Catherine Steeves, Stephanie Barton, Jessica Esseltine, Catherine Nolan, Pauline Barmby

1. Approval of the Minutes of May 5th, 2015 (attached)

The Minutes of the meeting were approved as circulated

2. Business arising from the Minutes – none

3. SGPS Announcements and Information (Linda Miller)

Dr. Miller provided background information regarding the Medical Leave bursary that went into effect September 1, 2015.

The Doctoral Excellence research award was also discussed; beginning September 1, 2016 Western University will launch the Doctoral Excellence Research Awards. The Doctoral Excellence Research Awards represent a new investment in graduate student support, in addition to the funding already invested by the University and Faculties in this area. A new doctoral student who is also a new tri-agency doctoral scholarship recipient will receive up to \$15,000 during their first year, and up to an additional \$10,000 for each subsequent year of the tri-agency scholarship. A continuing doctoral student who is a tri-agency doctoral scholarship recipient, will receive up to an additional \$10,000 for each remaining year of their tri-agency doctoral scholarship. Dr. Doug Jones expressed that there were concerns coming from the students in his Faculty who would prefer that funding be more equitably distributed among graduate students.

- 4. Reports from GEC Committees (Lorraine Davies, Miriam Capretz)
 - Policy Committee
 - 1. Recommended that the Graduate Education Council accept and approve the following membership in the GEC
 - a. Graduate Chair Representative July 2015-June 30 2018) (3 year term)
 - 1. Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry Dean Betts

- b. Faculty Representatives (July 1, 2015 June 30, 2018) (3 year terms)
 - 1. Engineering Abdallah Shami
- c. Graduate Assistant Representatives (July 1, 2015 –June 30, 2017) -(2 year terms)
 - Arzie Chant
 - Lori Johnson
- d. Graduate student Representatives (July 1, 2015 June 30, 2016) (1 year term) with an option on a second year

Arts – Jaime Brenes Reyes

Music - Chantel Lemire

Education - Eric Smiley

Health Science - Kristen Reilly

FIMS – Rebecca Kasperavicius

Law – Andi Ghosh

Ivey - Maya Kumar

Schulich - Catherine Nevin

Engineering - Kyle Fricke

Science - Gordon Irvine

Social Science – Stephanie Barton

Approved as presented

e. SUPR-G Graduate Student Representative Required – Term ends June 30, 2017)

(Nominees from the floor)

http://www.uwo.ca/univsec/pdf/senate/cttees/supr-g.pdf

i. Jenna Lorusso, Graduate Student (term ends June 2017)

2. Operations and Agenda Committee

Motion approved: That effective September 2015 the Graduate Education Council Operation/Agenda and Nominating Committee be discontinued September 15, 2015

Approved as presented

The issue of bringing agenda items forward to the Graduate Education Council was discussed. SGPS agreed that an email can be sent out indicating that members of the Graduate Community can bring items forward to their Associate Dean, who can convey them to the Policy Committee of GEC.

5. Dr. Karen Campbell

a. Graduate Student Funding: solicitation of input
Open discussion related to Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.